Eye and adnexa, ear and mastoid cover two ICD-10 chapters

Another posting on ICD-10 just to get everyone a little more familiar with the way codes work!

ICD-9 lumps Diseases of the Nervous System and Sense Organs into one chapter, Chapter 6. The specificity of ICD-10, and the fact that ICD-1o groups by anatomy (What a thought! Eye diseases with other eye diseases!) mean big changes to this coding area.

ICD-10 Chapter 7 (H00-H59) deals specifically with Disease of the Eye and Adnexa; Chapter 8 (H60-H95) is devoted to the Diseases of the Ear and Mastoid Process, for example.

The organization, which plays into a logical coder’s mind, means that anatomy knowledge will become more and more important. The eye has several structure and parts from the lens (H25-H28) to conjunctiva (H10-H11) to the cornea (H15-H22, which include other parts, such as the iris) for example.

How about glaucoma? We keep getting new glaucoma codes in ICD-9, partially help map to the codes in ICD-10. Here’s the high-level view of glaucoma coding:

Glaucoma (H40-H42)

H40.  Glaucoma

H40.0 Glaucoma suspect

Ocular hypertension

H40.1 Primary open-angle glaucoma

H40.2 Primary angle-closure glaucoma

H40.3 Glaucoma secondary to eye trauma

H40.4 Glaucoma secondary to eye inflammation

H40.5 Glaucoma secondary to other eye disorders

H40.6 Glaucoma secondary to drugs

H42. Glaucoma in diseases classified elsewhere

McClanahan, Debbie

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: